Image (Enlarge Image)

Those Who Leave and Those Who Stay

Elena Ferrante

Published by Europa Editions

Click below to buy direct from us or from a selection of other retailers

Buying options

Those Who Leave and Those Who Stay is also available as:


Encountering someone you haven't seen for decades can be pretty shocking, but how much more so if they're lying dead in front of you. In the opening of Elena Ferrante's latest novel, "Those Who Leave and Those Who Stay," two Neapolitan women around the age of 60, Lila Cerullo and Elena Greco, are taking a walk together early one morning on the stradone when a young man shouts that a body has been found in a flower bed by the church. Elena doesn't recognize the corpse, but Lila does. It's their childhood friend Gigliola, a beauty who married a rich, powerful man from the neighborhood. But the body in the flower bed is overweight, clad in a shabby green raincoat; her face is a ruin, and one of her shoes has been kicked off to reveal a gray stocking with a hole at the big toe.

What the critics say..

By this author

Open the Book

Open the Book

Share this page:

img img img img img



Available for dispatch within 1-2 working days


EAN: 9780091919078

Published: 25 Apr 2013

About Elena Ferrante


Elena Ferrante is the pen-name of an Italian novelist whose true identity is not publicly known. Though heralded as the most important Italian novelist of her generation, she has kept her identity secret since the publication of her first novel in 1992.Ferrante is the author of a half dozen novels, the most well-known of which is Days of Abandonment (I giorni dell'abbandono). Her "Neapolitan Novels", a series about two perceptive and intelligent girls from Naples who try to create lives for themselves within a violent and stultifying culture, consist of My Brilliant Friend,[2] The Story of a New Name (2013), Those Who Leave And Those Who Stay (2014), and The Story of the Lost Child, which was nominated for the Strega Prize, an Italian literary award.